European countries and their official name, short name

European countries in alphabetic order

Europe is the second smallest continent on Earth after Australia. It's also the third most crowded. Europe has the highest number of countries compared to any other continent, with 44 countries recognized as independent. The largest country in Europe is Russia, and the smallest is Vatican City, which is a tiny independent city-state inside Rome, Italy.

The borders of Europe are made up of natural features like mountains, rivers, and seas, as well as political boundaries. The North Atlantic Ocean separates Europe from North America, while the Mediterranean Sea separates it from Africa.

The Ural Mountains, Ural River, Caspian Sea, and Caucasus Mountains separate Europe from Asia. In Russia, the Ural Mountains and Ural River create a natural boundary between Europe and Asia. The Caspian Sea and Caucasus Mountains further divide the two continents in countries like Georgia and Azerbaijan.

Europe is a diverse and ancient continent in the northern part of the world. It's famous for its rich history, stunning scenery, and many significant contributions to global history. Europe is home to famous landmarks like the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Colosseum in Rome, and the Acropolis in Athens.

Europe offers a wide variety of travel destinations and attractions. From the iconic landmarks of Paris to the ancient ruins of Rome and Athens, from the charming canals of Amsterdam to the vibrant markets of Barcelona and the historic streets of Prague, there's something for every traveler. Whether exploring Santorini's landscapes or the Swiss Alps, Europe promises unforgettable adventures for visitors from all over the globe.

List of European Countries

SL Name Flag Short Name Official Name View
1 Albania AL The Republic of Albania View
2 Andorra AD The Principality of Andorra View
3 Armenia AM The Republic of Armenia View
4 Austria AT The Republic of Austria View
5 Azerbaijan AZ The Republic of Azerbaijan View
6 Belarus BY The Republic of Belarus View
7 Belgium BE The Kingdom of Belgium View
8 Bosnia and Herzegovina BA Bosnia and Herzegovina View
9 Bulgaria BG The Republic of Bulgaria View
10 Croatia HR The Republic of Croatia View
11 Cyprus CY The Republic of Cyprus View
12 Czech Republic CZ The Czech Republic View
13 Denmark DK The Kingdom of Denmark View
14 Estonia EE The Republic of Estonia View
15 Finland FI The Republic of Finland View
16 France FR The French Republic View
17 Georgia GE Georgia View
18 Germany DE The Federal Republic of Germany View
19 Greece GR The Hellenic Republic View
20 Hungary HU Hungary View
21 Iceland IS The Republic of Iceland View
22 Ireland IE Ireland View
23 Italy IT The Republic of Italy View
24 Latvia LV The Republic of Latvia View
25 Liechtenstein LI Principality of Liechtenstein View
26 Lithuania LT The Republic of Lithuania View
27 Luxembourg LU The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg View
28 Macedonia MK The Republic of North Macedonia View
29 Malta MT The Republic of Malta View
30 Moldova MD The Republic of Moldova View
31 Monaco MC The Principality of Monaco View
32 Montenegro ME Montenegro View
33 Netherlands NL The Kingdom of the Netherlands View
34 Norway NO The Kingdom of Norway View
35 Poland PL The Republic of Poland View
36 Portugal PT The Portuguese Republic View
37 Romania RO Romania View
38 Russia RU The Russian Federation View
39 San Marino SM The Republic of San Marino View
40 Serbia RS The Republic of Serbia View
41 Slovakia SK The Slovak Republic View
42 Slovenia SI The Republic of Slovenia View
43 Spain ES The Kingdom of Spain View
44 Sweden SE The Kingdom of Sweden View
45 Switzerland CH The Swiss Confederation View
46 Ukraine UA Ukraine View
47 United Kingdom GB The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland View
48 Vatican City VA Città del Vaticano View

Last updated on: 4/2/2024